skip nav links


August 26, 2013, 9:30 a.m. CT

Jen Rae Wang, Communications Director
Sue Roush, Gov’s Office
Bill Wiley, DHHS

Gov. Heineman Honors 2013 Recipients of Governor's Wellness Award


(Lincoln, Neb.) Gov. Dave Heineman announced the 2013 recipients of the Governor’s Wellness Award. This year, 50 Nebraska employers will be honored for successful efforts in promoting workplace wellness.

A total of 203 awards have been given since the program began six years ago. Nebraska is one of only a handful of states nationwide honoring wellness efforts of employers.

“These awards recognize employers for their serious commitment to employee well-being,” said Gov. Heineman. “Prevention and wellness efforts in the workplace have produced higher productivity, better employee satisfaction and helped control health care costs. Wellness works every time. These programs are helping more Nebraskans lead healthier lives.”

The award was created to recognize Nebraska employers that have developed successful models for encouraging wellness at work. Representatives from companies in greater Nebraska will be honored at a luncheon in Kearney on Thursday, September 26, and in Gering on Thursday, October 3. Businesses located in the Lincoln and Omaha area will be recognized at the WorkWell and Nebraska Safety Council luncheon in Lincoln on Wednesday, October 16.

Factors considered for the award included the level of support for the program by company leaders, assessment of employee needs, wellness plan design, outcomes and benefits, and policies supporting healthy behaviors. Wellness programs typically provide employees with health education, health screenings and opportunities for exercise.

Dr. Joseph Acierno, Nebraska’s Chief Medical Officer, said, “Nebraska’s wellness program for state employees has received national attention for being a leader in workplace wellness programs.  That’s because our program empowers employees to make good decisions about the health risk factors in their lives. As a result, workers can take action to avoid chronic illnesses that can adversely impact their health and affect their quality of life.  Based on the State of Nebraska’s experience and the Governor’s Wellness Award program we hope to encourage more businesses in Nebraska to offer employee health and wellness programs.”

Nebraska’s workplace wellness program offers two categories. The Sower Award recognizes workplaces that have established quality wellness programs; the Grower Award takes it to the next level, and honors businesses and organizations demonstrating significant improvement in employee health status through their wellness programs

Businesses receiving the Grower award include:   

  • All Points Cooperative
  • Cabela's
  • Central District Health Department
  • Chief Industries
  • Duncan Aviation
  • Fred A. Lockwood & Co PC
  • Kawasaki Motors Manufacturing Corp., U.S.A.
  • Lincoln Airport Authority
  • Lincoln Electric System
  • Lincoln Public Schools
  • Little Blue NRD
  • Lower Loup Natural Resources District
  • Lower Platte South NRD
  • Mary Lanning Healthcare
  • Nelnet
  • Nye Senior Services-Nye Square
  • Panhandle Public Health District
  • Papio-Missouri River Natural Resources District
  • Pen-Link
  • RDG Planning & Lamp Design
  • Speedway Motors, Inc.
  • State Farm Insurance
  • Upper Niobrara White Natural Resources District
  • Upper Republican Natural Resources District
  • Warren Distribution, Inc.
  • Woodmen of The World


Sower award recipients include:       

  • Arbor Day Foundation
  • Aurora Public Schools
  • Broken Bow Public Schools
  • David City Public Schools
  • Dial Retirement Communities
  • Dodge County Head Start
  • East Butler Public Schools
  • Educational Service Unit #2
  • Five Points Bank of Hastings
  • Harvard Public School
  • Lexington Public Schools
  • Marian High School
  • Nebraska Association of Resources Districts
  • Nemaha Natural Resources District
  • Norfolk Public Schools
  • Norris School District
  • Orthman Manufacturing
  • Peru State College
  • Sandhills Public Schools
  • South Central Unified at Lawrence/Nelson
  • Sutherland Public School
  • Tri Valley Health System
  • Tri-Basin NRD
  • Upper Elkhorn Natural Resources District


Nebraska businesses can apply for the Governor’s Wellness Award online at Awards are presented annually and are good for three years. The award program is a partnership of the Office of the Governor, the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, and WorkWell, Inc. and the Nebraska Safety Council.

Governor's Wellness Award (pdf)


Copyright © State of Nebraska. Design by Office of the CIO.