skip nav links


July 17, 2012, 9:00 a.m. CT

Jen Rae Hein
Sue M. Roush

Gov. Heineman Names Francie Riedmann of Omaha to Court of Appeals, 3rd Judicial District


(Lincoln, Neb.) Gov. Dave Heineman today named Francie C. Riedmann of Omaha to the Nebraska Court of Appeals in the Third Judicial District.

Riedmann, 48, is currently practicing law with Gross & Welch, P.C., L.L.O. in Omaha. Her areas of legal practice include insurance disputes, construction law, contract disputes, employment, inverse condemnation, medical malpractice, admiralty law, and products liability, among others.

Riedmann has handled over 60 appeals to the Nebraska Supreme Court, Nebraska Court of Appeal, and the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. She has briefed and argued hundreds of motions in the Nebraska State and Federal Courts.

Riedmann has received numerous awards and recognitions for her legal work, including being a fellow for the Nebraska Bar Association and the Litigation Counsel of America. She has earned the American Jurisprudence Award in three areas: Trusts & Estates, Property, and Insurance. Additionally, she is active in many community services and organizations including the Black Student Catholic Scholarship Fund, Friends of the Library for the Gretna Public Library, and Gretna Public Schools Citizens’ Committee.

Riedmann earned her Juris Doctor from Creighton University School of Law, and a Bachelor of Science from Kearney State College, now the University of Nebraska -Kearney.

The Third Judicial District of the State Court of Appeals includes several counties in northeast Nebraska (Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Burt, Cedar, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Holt, Knox, Madison, Pierce, Platte, Stanton, Thurston, Washington, Wayne, and Wheeler Counties, in addition to portions of Douglas and Sarpy Counties).

The vacancy was created when Gov. Heineman appointed Judge William B. Cassel to serve on the Nebraska Supreme Court, Third Judicial District.

Copyright © State of Nebraska. Design by Office of the CIO.